British Touring Car Championship


6 April – 13 October 2019.

The British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is one of the best-loved and most anticipated motor racing championships in the world, with races taking place from April to October each year. Thirty action-packed races across 10 events are hosted at some of the UK’s most renowned circuits.

British Touring Car Championship

Over 60 years of the BTCC.

The BTCC has a proud heritage dating back to 1957. Ken Gregory, former manager of British Formula One racing driver Stirling Moss, felt that there was a gap for manufacturers to exhibit their new and increasingly popular ranges of passenger cars. Gregory suggested to the British Racing and Sports Car Club – of which he was secretary – that running a championship alongside the club's 500cc Formula 3 could boost the profile of saloon car racing.

The first race with scores counting towards the points table took place on Boxing Day 1957, with the very first BTCC coming to a conclusion in 1958.

The rules and regulations of BTCC have shifted and changed over the years, but providing current production cars with a platform to compete has always been the rationale behind the championship.

West Surrey Racing team West Surrey Racing team

West Surrey Racing:
Team BMW and BMW Pirtek Racing.

Beginning in the 1981 British Formula 3 Championship, West Surrey Racing (WSR) has grown to become a legendary UK-based motorsport team. It has contested the BTCC each year since 1996 and began a highly successful partnership with BMW in 2007.

WSR currently uses a trio of modified BMW 125i M Sport race cars driven by Colin Turkington, Rob Collard and Andrew Jordan. Turkington and Collard form Team BMW, while Jordan – who joined WSR in 2017 – races under the BMW Pirtek Racing banner.

WSR has competed in 617 BTCC races to date, scored 79 race victories, achieved 269 podium finishes, sped to 105 fastest laps and won the Championship twice.

Colin Turkington Celebrating

Team BMW:
2018 Triple Crown Winners.

Colin Turkington and Team BMW clinched an extraordinary triple crown on an historic final day of the 2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch. Taking home all three titles – Drivers, Teams and Manufacturers – was a huge achievement in what was a tightly contested end of the season. It marks the ninth BTCC title in only five years for the WSR-run team BMW.

“2018 was the toughest BTCC season ever both in terms of competitiveness and from a personal point of view. There were 17 different race winners, so to come out on top is amazing.”

Colin Turkington, Team BMW