Cookies disabled Find out more
Cookies on the BMW UK website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website and to improve the relevance of our communications with you. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the BMW UK website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’. Find out more


7 April – 30 September 2018.

The British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is one of the best-loved and most anticipated motor racing championships in the world, with races taking place from April to September. Each year, 30 action-packed races across ten events are hosted at some of the UK’s most renowned circuits.

Over 60 years of the BTCC.

The BTCC has a proud heritage dating back to 1957. Ken Gregory, former manager of British Formula One racing driver Stirling Moss, felt that there was a gap for manufacturers to exhibit their new and increasingly popular ranges of passenger cars. Gregory suggested to the British Racing and Sports Car Club – of which he was secretary – that running a championship alongside the club's 500cc Formula 3 could boost the profile of saloon car racing.

The first race with scores counting towards the points table took place on Boxing Day 1957, with the very first BTCC coming to a conclusion in 1958.

The rules and regulations of BTCC have shifted and changed over the years, but providing current production cars with a platform to compete has always been the rationale behind the championship.

West Surrey Racing:
Team BMW and BMW Pirtek Racing.

Beginning in the 1981 British Formula 3 Championship, West Surrey Racing (WSR) has grown to become a legendary UK-based motorsport team. It has contested the BTCC each year since 1996 and began a highly successful partnership with BMW in 2007.

WSR currently uses a trio of modified BMW 125i M Sport race cars driven by Colin Turkington, Rob Collard and Andrew Jordan. Turkington and Collard form Team BMW, while Jordan – who joined WSR in 2017 – races under the BMW Pirtek Racing banner.

WSR has competed in 587 BTCC races to date, scored 76 race victories, achieved 251 podium finishes, sped to 101 fastest laps and won the Championship three times.


The 2017 BTCC reached an outstanding conclusion, with BMW and WSR taking both the Manufacturers’-Constructors’ titles, along with Team BMW securing the BTCC Teams' title. Having last entered the BTCC officially in 1996, the finale marked the successful return of BMW as a manufacturer-supported team.

Multimedia content activeMultimedia content inactive